Hello everybody!

This week has been a blur. We ended up teaching 13 lessons in 3 days. The work has exploded. I have never seen such opposition, though. We have been yelled at a bunch, nearly been taken off of a bus, and taught/fought a lesson to a born-again couple. Teaching born-again people is quite like yelling at a brick wall- you get nowhere.

It was while we were teaching this born again couple that I had an enlightening epiphany. They were Bible bashing and trying to tell us that we were wrong, and finally I bore my testimony. I told them that either the Book of Mormon was true, or it wasn’t, but that I knew that it was. Then the woman asked me, “Have you ever thought if it might not be true? Because if it’s not, then you are going to Hell.” It was the way she said it. It was as if she was concerned that all Mormons were going to Hell. The member that was teaching with us said something profound, he said “Even if it’s not true, my life is so much better than it ever would have been without it.” Boom. Silence. The Spirit testified. They ended up all but throwing us out of their house, but I know that my testimony of the Gospel was strengthened by the thought. I know that it is true, and I know that.

One thing that you have to know is that as missionaries, we have a very limited selection of movies that we can watch. The one that is watched the most is one called “The Restoration” which is a 20 minute video about the first vision. It is a powerful way to show about what happened. It really strikes me each time we watch it (I’ve seen it 10 times) is the humble circumstances that led to the most powerful experience in Joseph’s life. The true way to gain answers to our questions. It has struck me as wonderful. I hope all is well. Be sure to write a letter when you can! I live for letters just as much as anybody!

Love ya all, Elder Beard

About elderjustin

I am currently serving in the England, Manchester Mission as an LDS mission. This blog will be updated with my emails every once in a while.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

