Email for DaBlog!

Hello everybody!

This week has been one of miracles and spiritual experiences. I wish I could share all of them with you, but I am trying to catch up on letter writing and such, so I only have a few minutes, so I will share the gems!

On Tuesday, we had a district meeting in Preston. Sidenote: my companion, Elder Stubbs is my district leader. Anyways, it was great to see Elder Starley, who was in my district in the MTC. The zone leaders showed up, and took Elder Stubbs and me on exchanges. I was sent with Elder Neilson back to Lancaster, pretty scary seeing how I have only been the area for 2 weeks and I have to remember where everything is! We got to the area at about 2:30, and immediately began street contacting. It was amazing day, we ended up talking to over 25 people and setting up 17 appointments! At the end of the night, I slept the best I have slept in ages! It was a true blessing and very exciting.

We also found a new investigator named Mark. He is going to Uni and was walking back to his flat when we met him. We taught a great first lesson on the street and he seems to be really interested. Saturday began as one of the hardest days of my mission. I was coming down with a cold and we had an appointment fall through. I was feeling really bad when we came back to the flat for lunch. I honestly felt like giving up and falling asleep. However, we received a Mormon.org referral and that ended up changing the whole day.

We had no idea who it was, or even if it was legitimate because it had no name on it. We still decided to take it, and I am glad that we did. When we knocked on the door, a man in his 40’s answered and he was on the phone. When we told him who we were, he got off and invited us right in. We sat down and began talking to him about how he had requested some DVDs. He told us that he had done so himself, because he had been doing some research about the Church on LDS.org and decided he wanted to know more. His name is Frank, and he then told us about how he had been a Jehovah’s Witness, but was kicked out for reading the Book of Mormon. He didn’t know much about the Church, but was eager to learn. We taught him about the Godhead and he was very excited. He brought out 10 bibles and said he had been searching for the truth all of his life and that in his search, the Godhead had to be separate but one. Then, we talked about the Book of Mormon, and immediately he told us that he knew it was true and that Joseph Smith was a Prophet. The Spirit was so strong, and we committed him to baptism! Unfortunately, he is afraid of what his family and friends will think if he is a Mormon, so we have to overcome that. But it strengthened my testimony to know that there are people searching for truth, and that we are bringing it to them.

I am so grateful to be in this work! Even though there are lows, the highs are so rewarding that you forget how it feels to be sad! After the lesson with Frank, I told Elder Stubbs that I could run a marathon, then we ran to the bus and I downgraded from running marathon to the bus stop, but I was still so excited! (Exited for Kristin)

Love you all!
Elder Beard

About elderjustin

I am currently serving in the England, Manchester Mission as an LDS mission. This blog will be updated with my emails every once in a while.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

